Bloomberg New Contemporaries Opens At Liverpool Biennial

Bloomberg New Contemporaries

The Bloomberg New Contemporaries has been an integral part of Liverpool Biennial since 1999. This year 55 artists join the event which includes previous exhibitors; Jake & Dinos Chapman, Tacita Dean, Mona Hatoum, Damien Hirst, and Mike Nelson. This year’s New Contemporaries launches at World Museum, Liverpool before touring to ICA, London.

This annual national touring exhibition has provided a significant critical platform since 1949 marking its 65th anniversary. The exhibition of up & coming artists has come along way since the Guardian reviewed the 1975 show as being “low on razzmatazz and high on endeavour”.

This year’s selectors are Tharvin Gaye Chetwynd, Enrico David and Goshka Macuga with the resulting exhibition billed as an ‘incisive snapshot of contemporary practice, spanning diverse media, processes, themes, influences and approaches’.

The construction of language and narrative, space and time, are present throughout the exhibition of fresh talent, often framed by current socio-political and economic concerns. Whilst a number of artists are concerned with the formal aspects of art production and materiality, concepts of ‘the body’ and performative practices also take centre stage.

‘At a time when creativity and innovation has never been so vital, this year’s selected artists demonstrate the relevance of contemporary art as analytical commentary in everyday life. Offering a unique nationwide insight into British art schools today, this year’s national touring exhibition offers a unique opportunity for selected works to be seen on an international platform at Liverpool Biennial and ICA, London’ – stated Kirsty Ogg, Director, Bloomberg New Contemporaries.

Selected artists for Bloomberg New Contemporaries 2014 are: Lucy Beech, Dinah Berger, Louise Bradley, Jesc Bunyard, Matt Copson, Racheal Crowther, Yi Dai, Tajinder Dhami, Bee Flowers, Alice Gauthier, Marco Godoy, Victoria Grenier, Stacey Guthrie, Alice Hartley, Katie Hayward, Edward Hill, Yussef Hu, Matthew Humphreys, Henry Hussey, Marie Jacotey-Voyatzis, Lucy Joyce, Melissa Kime, Xiao-Yang Li, Inga Lineviciute, Andrea Medjesi-Jones, Jonathan Meira, MKLK, Ebrel Moore, Emily Motto, Emely Neu, Laura O’Neill, Lydia Ourahmane, Athena Papadopoulos, Catherine Parsonage, Imran Perretta, Miroslav Pomichal, Charles Richardson, Simon Senn, Xin Shen, Will Sheridan Jr., Mustafa Sidki, David Cyrus Smith, Marilia Stagkouraki, Jane Stobart, Camille Summers-Valli, John Thole, Ian Tricker, Milou van der Maaden, Tess Vaughan, Adam Wallace, Deborah Westmancoat, Joseph Whitmore, Frances Williams, Ben Zawalich and Adam Zoltowski.


, , , , , , ,