Prestigious John Moores Painting Prize 2016 Artists Announced

John Moores Painting Prize

First held in 1957, the John Moores Painting Prize is the UK’s best-known painting competition and is named after Sir John Moores (1896 – 1993), the founder of the prize. Sir John Moores was the owner of the Littlewoods company and a keen amateur painter, founded the competition to challenge London’s domination of the national arts scene. It was first held in 1957 and is open to anyone.

The competition culminates in an exhibition held at the Walker Art Gallery every two years, which forms a key strand of the Liverpool Biennial. The John Moores exhibition is held in partnership with the John Moores Liverpool Exhibition Trust, and although the appearance of each exhibition changes, the principles remain constant: to support artists and to bring to Liverpool the best contemporary painting from across the UK. In 2012 Sir Peter Blake became the first Patron of the prize. Find out more about his connection to the prize and watch a video of the artist in his studio. A 54-work shortlist  for the John Moores Painting Prize 2016 exhibition has been announced. The pieces have been selected from more than 2,500 entries and will be showcased at the Walker Art Gallery from 9 July to 27 November 2016.

“The John Moores Painting Prize is the Oscar of the British painting world”  says, Sir Norman Rosenthal, curator and former exhibitions secretary at the Royal Academy. Sandra Penketh, Director of Art Galleries at National Museums Liverpool, said: “The 2016 list of exhibiting artists represents a diverse and exciting selection of paintings, and there is an especially vibrant use of colour in this year’s selection. We also see many artists addressing the topical issues facing our world today, touching on subjects such as migration. “A number of the artists represented are of a non-UK origin, bringing a strong international feel to the show. Visitors to the exhibition might also recognise works by some returning artists, including ex-juror and previous prize winner Graham Crowley, and multiple Visitors’ Choice winner, Nicholas Middleton.” Previous recipients of the prize include David Hockney and, most recently in 2014, the octogenarian painter Rose Wylie from Kent.

The artists in the John Moores Painting Prize 2016 exhibition, in alphabetical order are:

Talar Aghbashian – ‘Untitled’ • Tristan Barlow – ‘Truckstop Swamp’ • Karl Bielik –  ‘Sunday’ • Gabriella Boyd – ‘Birthyard’ • Julian Brown –  ‘A Fairytale of Gdansk’ • Nici Bungey – ‘The Expiring Frog’ • Bernard Charnley –  ‘When the stars threw down their spears’ • Julie Cockburn – ‘The Playground’ • James Collins – ‘Floyd’ • Gemma Cossey – ‘Halves II (Continuum)’ • Ben Cove – ‘Freeloader’ • Graham Crowley – ‘Blue Drift’ • William Dick –  ‘OLDAL II’ • Sarah Dwyer – ‘Potrero’ • Bella Easton – ‘Passageways’ • Róisín Fogarty – ‘Goofy Foot’ • Michael Ginsborg – ‘From Package to Picture’ • Juliet Goodden – ‘Kedleston Road’ • Steph Goodger – ‘Les Non-Réclamés (The Unclaimed)’ • Christopher Hanlon – ‘Untitled’ • Linda Hemmersbach – ‘January’ • Thom Trojanowski Hobson – ‘It’s a Circus Out There’ • Ira Hoffecker – ‘Camp Moschendorf II’ • Benjamin Jamie – ‘Dissolver’ • Benjamin Jenner – ‘Flicker 3’ • Gareth Kemp – ‘This Could be Eastern Europe’ • Nicholas Kulkarni – ‘Untitled’ • George Lloyd-Jones – ‘Round Tables (2)’ • Enzo Marra – ‘Invigilator (John Virtue)’ • Lee Marshall – ‘Midnight I’ • Sneh Mehta – ‘Him & Her’ • Nicholas Middleton – ‘Figures in an Arch’ • Nancy Milner – ‘Untitled’ • Frank Minoprio – ‘Field Myth’ • Steve Moberly – ‘If I called this painting ‘List’ would you read it as such?’ • Donal Moloney – ‘Cave Floor’ • David Murphy – ‘Long Ending (Green)’ • Ewan Murray – ‘Couple’ • Laurence Owen –  ‘Ritual to the Westfield’ • Selma Parlour – ‘One, The Side-ness of In-Out’ • Mandy Payne – ‘NO BALL GAMES HERE’ • playpaint – ‘Double Science Fiction’ • Alex Rennie – ‘Totem’ • Tim Renshaw – ‘Notebook Architecture’ • Lizi Sánchez –  ‘I I I I I’ • Syed Shaan – ‘Foster’ • Michael Simpson – ‘Squint (19)’ • John Stark – ‘Beasts of England II’ • Duncan Swann – ‘I choose the child’ • EmmaTalbot – ‘You Come To Me In A Dream’ • Julia Warr –  ‘“Where do we come from? Where are we going?”’ • Richard Kenton Webb – ‘The Landscape as Discourse’ • Simon Williams – ‘A bout portant’ • Mary Wood – ‘Series 15 Cerulean 2’

Photo: © P C Robinson all rights reserved



, ,