Tate Announces 2018 Turner Prize Shortlist Online – But Was It An Accident?

London: Tate Britain accidentally announced the shortlist for the prestigious 2018 Turner Prize, on their website, twelve hours before the formal announcement at 9:00 am 26 April. We have no idea why this information was published on the official Tate website ahead of the announcement. Tate quickly pulled down the information, which reappeared later on this link. 

The four nominees are: Forensic Architecture – Naeem Mohaiemen – Charlotte Prodger – Luke Willis Thompson

This year’s shortlist is noticeably younger than last year with no one over 50 represented. The Turner Prize award is £40,000 with £25,000 going to the winner and £5,000 each for the other shortlisted artists. The Prize, established in 1984, is awarded to a British artist under fifty for an outstanding exhibition or other presentation of their work in the twelve months preceding 28 April 2018. One of the best-known prizes for the visual arts in the world, the Turner Prize aims to promote public debate around new developments in contemporary British art. Every other year, the prize leaves Tate Britain and is presented at a venue outside the capital.

2018 Turner Prize All photos below courtesy of Tate Website 


Naeem Mohaiemen

Charlotte Prodger

Luke Willis Thompson

The 2018 Turner jury comprises Oliver Basciano, art critic and International Editor at ArtReview; Elena Filipovic, Director, Kunsthalle Basel; Lisa LeFeuvre, Head of Sculpture Studies, Henry Moore Institute; and Tom McCarthy, novelist and writer. The winner of the prize will be announced at an award ceremony in December 2018.

An exhibition of work by the four artists shortlisted for Turner Prize 2018 will again be held at Tate Britain from September 2018 until January 2019. Turner Prize 2019 will be presented at Turner Contemporary Margate. Victoria Pomery OBE, Director of Turner Contemporary said: ‘We are thrilled to host the Turner Prize here at Turner Contemporary in 2019. This is a truly transformative opportunity for Margate to be part of something which invites conversations on an international scale, connecting our audiences to outstanding contemporary art and inspiring future generations of creative talent. It seems, even more, fitting to host the prize here in Margate on the site where JMW Turner was so inspired. We look forward to working with our existing and new stakeholders and colleagues at Tate on this exciting initiative.’

Alex Farquharson, Director, Tate Britain and Chair of the 2018 Turner Prize jury said ‘Turner Contemporary is an exceptional venue with an ambitious exhibition and public engagement programmes. It has helped revitalise south-east Kent, and the area is also now home to an exciting artist-led scene. The gallery’s associations with Turner have particular resonance, as Turner was an innovator in his day, and we are delighted that the prize will be presented in Kent. We are looking forward to working with colleagues in Margate.’

Tate recently announced the Turner Prize jury which includes: Oliver Basciano, art critic and International Editor at ArtReview; Elena Filipovic, Director, Kunsthalle Basel; Lisa LeFeuvre, Head of Sculpture Studies, Henry Moore Institute; and Tom McCarthy, novelist and writer, will be the jurors for Turner Prize 2018 at Tate Britain. It is also announced today that the criteria of the Prize have been modified. Artists of any age will be eligible to be shortlisted and the Turner Prize exhibition will now be taken into consideration by the jury as part of the terms of the Prize, alongside the projects for which the artists are nominated.

Previous Turner Prize winners are: 1984 Malcolm Morley; 1985 Howard Hodgkin; 1986 Gilbert & George; 1987 Richard Deacon; 1988 Tony Cragg; 1989 Richard Long; 1990 (Prize suspended); 1991 Anish Kapoor; 1992 Grenville Davey; 1993 Rachel Whiteread; 1994 Antony Gormley; 1995 Damien Hirst; 1996 Douglas Gordon; 1997 Gillian Wearing; 1998 Chris Ofili; 1999 Steve McQueen; 2000 Wolfgang Tillmans; 2001 Martin Creed; 2002 Keith Tyson; 2003 Grayson Perry; 2004 Jeremy Deller; 2005 Simon Starling; 2006 Tomma Abts; 2007 Mark Wallinger; 2008 Mark Leckey; 2009 Richard Wright; 2010 Susan Philipsz; 2011 Martin Boyce; 2012 Elizabeth Price; 2013 Laure Prouvost; 2014 Duncan Campbell; 2015 Assemble; 2016 Helen Marten.

The exhibition opens on 25 September 2018 and the winner will be announced at an award ceremony on 4 December live on the BBC, the broadcast partner for the 2018

Turner Prize.

The 2018 Turner Prize has previously been shown in Liverpool in 2007, Gateshead in 2011, Derry in 2013 and Glasgow in 2015. Turner Prize 2017 will be at Ferens Art Gallery in Hull

Quiz How Much do You Know About The Turner Prize 

Related Posts

London Artfair 2023 - Enjoy a 50% discount on tickets with the code ARTLYST50
Jerry Kaye - Look good, feel good
Follow Artlyst on Instagram
Artlyst Benefit screen prints by Simon Patterson. Exclusive Editions
Open Source Salon with Hauser and Wirth - A new monthly discussion group
Advertise your next show on Artlyst from £200 per week