Tenth XL Catlin Art Prize 2016 Announces Outstanding Finalists

Celebrating its 10th year, the finalists for the XL Catlin Art Prize 2016 have been announced. This curated exhibition is now firmly established as an influential showcase for the most outstanding artists from UK art schools.

This year’s finalists are: Rory Biddulph (Slade School of Fine Art, MA Fine Art), Jude Crilly (Royal College of Art, MA Sculpture), Jamie Fitzpatrick, (Royal College of Art, MA Sculpture), Christopher Gray (Goldsmiths, BA Fine Art & History of Art), Jane Hayes Greenwood (City & Guilds of London Art School, MA Fine Art), Hamish Pearch (Camberwell College of Arts, BA Sculpture) and Neal Rock (Royal College of Art, PhD Painting by Practice).

Selected from the annual XL Catlin Art Guide for their potential to make an impact in the art world over the next decade and beyond, each finalist is commissioned to produce an ambitious new body of work.

A panel of judges will select one artist to receive an award of £5,000 at a private ceremony on Tuesday 17th May. The public will also have its say: votes cast via a ballot box at the Londonewcastle Project Space will determine the winner of the £2,000 Visitor Vote. For the first time, the Visitor Vote will remain open until thirty minutes before the winner is announced.

Justin Hammond, curator of the XL Catlin Art Prize and author of the XL Catlin Art Guide comments, Over the past decade, these projects have risen in stature and proved significant in promoting a new generation of artists. This is an exceptional group and they’re determined to mark the 10th anniversary with a spectacular show.

The legacy of the XL Catlin Art Prize is evident through the successes of the scheme’s alumni. Neil Raitt, winner in 2014, has already gone on to achieve impressive auction results and is represented by Anat Ebgi in Los Angeles. Jasmina Cibic, a finalist in 2007, went on to represent Slovenia at the 55th Venice Biennale and recently presented a solo exhibition at the Museum of Contemporary Art Belgrade. Juno Calypso, winner of the Visitor Vote in 2013, and Felicity Hammond, a finalist in 2015, have been announced as winners of British Journal of Photography’s International Photography Awards 2016.

Paul Jardine, Chief Experience Officer at XL Catlin said, We are delighted that the XL Catlin Art Prize is celebrating its 10th year; as one of the world’s leading insurers of fine art, we are proud to play a part in helping support the ambitions of promising new artists.

Photograph: © Christopher Gray, The Chamber, Video, 2015 

Related Posts

London Artfair 2023 - Enjoy a 50% discount on tickets with the code ARTLYST50
Jerry Kaye - Look good, feel good
Follow Artlyst on Instagram
Artlyst Benefit screen prints by Simon Patterson. Exclusive Editions
Open Source Salon with Hauser and Wirth - A new monthly discussion group
Advertise your next show on Artlyst from £200 per week