Turner Prize Exhibition Launches Autumn Season At Tate Britain

The Turner Prize 2012 exhibition got underway at Tate Britain today with a press view and curators talk. It will open to the public tomorrow (Tuesday 2 October). The Prize was established in 1984 by the Patrons of New Art and is intended to promote public discussion of new developments in contemporary British art. 

The work of the four artists shortlisted for the UK’s most prestigious contemporary art award, will be on view in an exhibition of selected installations of the artists work, at Tate Britain. The Turner Prize returns to London after a hugely popular exhibition at Gateshead’s BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art in 2011. This was the second time that the prize had been presented outside of London. In 2007 it was hosted by Tate Liverpool, ahead of the city’s tenure as European capital of culture. 2013 will see the event hosted in Derry-Londonderry, the UK City of Culture 2013. The Turner Prize will form one of the highlights of the 2013 programme and it will mark the first time this prize has left Britain’s shore. This departure from the Tate’s infrastructure will now transform the event into a democratic representation of Britain.

The £25,000 Turner Prize is presented to an artist under 50, living, working or born in Britain for an outstanding exhibition in the previous 12 months. The winner will be announced on Monday 3 December 2012 during a live broadcast by Channel 4.

Previous winners are: 1984 Malcolm Morley; 1985 Howard Hodgkin; 1986 Gilbert & George; 1987 Richard Deacon; 1988 Tony Cragg; 1989 Richard Long; 1990 (Prize suspended); 1991 Anish Kapoor; 1992 Grenville Davey; 1993 Rachel Whiteread; 1994 Antony Gormley; 1995 Damien Hirst; 1996 Douglas Gordon; 1997 Gillian Wearing; 1998 Chris Ofili; 1999 Steve McQueen; 2000 Wolfgang Tillmans; 2001 Martin Creed; 2002 Keith Tyson; 2003 Grayson Perry; 2004 Jeremy Deller; 2005 Simon Starling; 2006 Tomma Abts; 2007 Mark Wallinger; 2008 Mark Leckey: 2009 Richard Wright: 2010 Susan Philipsz. 2011 Martin Boyce

The members of the Turner Prize 2012 jury are Andrew Hunt, Director, Focal Point Gallery, Southend-on-Sea ,Heike Munder, Director, Migros Museum für Gegenwartskunst, Zurich ,Mark Sladen, Director, Kunsthal Charlottenborg, Copenhagen ,Penelope Curtis, Director, Tate Britain and Chair of the Jury. The untimely death of Michael Stanley, Director of Modern Art Oxford has left a hole in this years judging panel. It is not currently known whether a replacement will be appointed.

Spartacus Chetwynd

Spartacus Chetwynd
Odd Man Out 2011

© Spartacus Chetwynd
Courtesy Sadie Coles HQ

Nominated for her solo exhibition at Sadie Coles HQ, London. Combining a broad spectrum of historical and cultural sources, Chetwynd makes paintings, carnivalesque performances and sculptural installations utilising handmade costumes and sets. Chetwynd confuses the boundary between performer and spectator, creating an atmosphere of joyful improvisation.
Tweet #SChetwynd

Luke Fowler

Luke Fowler, All Divided Selves 2011

Courtesy of the artist, The Modern Institute/Toby Webster Ltd, Glasgow and Galerie Gisela Capitain, Cologne
© John Haynes

Nominated for his solo exhibition at Inverleith House, Edinburgh, which showcased his new film exploring the life and work of Scottish psychiatrist, R.D. Laing. Fowler interweaves found footage and new material into accomplished and immersive films that evoke the atmosphere of a particular era, revealing how the relationship between individuals and society changes through time.
Tweet #LFowler

Paul Noble

Paul Noble
Volume 3 2006–7

Courtesy Gagosian Gallery
© Paul Noble

Nominated for his solo exhibition at Gagosian Gallery, London, which brought together the painstakingly detailed and engrossing drawings of the fictional metropolis Nobson Newtown. Undercutting the precise, technical drawing is a dark satirical narrative which unfolds in the micro-cosmos of these monumental works.
Tweet #PNoble

Elizabeth Price

Elizabeth Price
still from The Woolworths Choir of 1979 2012

© Elizabeth Price 2012

Nominated for her solo exhibition at BALTIC, Centre for Contemporary Art, Gateshead, in which she presented a trilogy of video installations. Price reanimates existing archives of imagery, texts and music to explore our complex relationship to objects and consumer culture. Her carefully sequenced films guide us through immersive virtual spaces, derived from the cultural debris of the material world.
Tweet #EPrice

The Turner Prize award is £40,000 with £25,000 going to the winner and £5,000 each for the other shortlisted artists. The Prize, established in 1984, is awarded to a British artist under 50 for an outstanding exhibition or other presentation of their work in the 12 months preceding 24 April 2012. It is intended to promote public discussion of new developments in contemporary British art and is widely recognised as one of the most important and prestigious awards for the visual arts in Europe.

Work by the shortlisted artists will be shown in an exhibition at Tate Britain opening on 2 October 2012. The winner will be announced at Tate Britain on Monday 3 December 2012 during a live broadcast by Channel 4.

Turner Prize 2012 Reviewed Here

Watch Video Here


Visit Exhibition Here


Related Posts

London Artfair 2023 - Enjoy a 50% discount on tickets with the code ARTLYST50
Jerry Kaye - Look good, feel good
Follow Artlyst on Instagram
Artlyst Benefit screen prints by Simon Patterson. Exclusive Editions
Open Source Salon with Hauser and Wirth - A new monthly discussion group
Advertise your next show on Artlyst from £200 per week