David Shrigley Watch New Video ‘An important message about the arts’

Campaign Highlighting Funding Cuts

Glasgow-based artist David Shrigley is leading a campaign to protest against cuts to the Arts by the UK Government. A proposed 25% has been earmarked, shaving arts funding down to the bone. The campaign launch yesterday at London’s Royal Festival Hall has the backing of more than 100 high-profile visual artists, including the 2009 Turner Prize winner Richard Wright, Tracey Emin, David Hockney and Damien Hirst. Shrigley presented a video animation to spearhead the campaign, the first of a weekly presentation designed to highlight the proposed cuts, which will also feature 2007 Turner Prize winner Mark Wallinger. It has taken 50 years to create a vibrant arts culture in Britain that is the envy of the world. We the undersigned appeal to the government not to slash arts funding and risk destroying this long-term achievement and the social and economic benefits it brings to all.

Sign the petition: savethearts.org.uk

See video here.

Artists Supporting the Save the Arts campaign Faisal Abduallah David Austen Charles Avery Fiona Banner Jordan Baseman Becky Beasley Zarina Bhimji Karla Black Martin Boyce Anthony Caro Jake & Dinos Chapman Adam Chodzko Steve Claydon Nathan Coley Matt Collishaw Nigel Cooke Tony Cragg Michael Craig-Martin Juan Cruz Ian Davenport Richard Deacon Tacita Dean Richard Deacon Jeremy Deller Willie Doherty Peter Doig Tracey Emin Nogah Engler Luke Fowler Anya Gallaccio Ryan Gander Ori Gerscht Liam Gillick Andy Goldsworthy Douglas Gordon Antony Gormley Brian Griffiths Sunil Gupta Maggi Hambling Richard Hamilton Mona Hatoum Susan Hiller Damien Hirst David Hockney Howard Hodgkin Runa Islam Alison Jackson Chantal Joffe Isaac Julien Alan Kane Anish Kapoor Michael Landy Mark Leckey Hew Locke Sarah Lucas Steve McQueen Malcolm Morley Ron Mueck David Nash Rosalind Nashashibi Mike Nelson Tim Noble Humphrey Ocean Harold Offeh Julian Opie Cornelia Parker Peter Peri Grayson Perry Susan Philipsz Tom Phillips Marc Quinn Fiona Rae Peter Randall-Page Bridget Riley Conrad Shawcross Yinka Shonibare David Shrigley Bob and Roberta Smith Terry Smith Simon Starling Sam Taylor-Wood Jurgen Teller Wolfgang Tillmans Mark Titchner Keith Tyson Francis Upritchard Jessica Voorsanger Mark Wallinger Rebecca Warren Gillian Wearing Sue Webster Richard Wentworth Rachel Whiteread Cathy Wilkes Jane and Louise Wilson Bill Woodrow Richard Wright Carey Young Toby Ziegler