Hugo Boss Celebrates 20th Anniversary of Art Prize: Shortlist Announced

The shortlist for the HUGO BOSS PRIZE 2016 has been announced by HUGO BOSS and the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum and Foundation. It will celebrate the twentieth anniversary of the prize and announce the winner of the renowned accolade. The six artists nominated by the international jury are: Tania Bruguera, Mark Leckey, Ralph Lemon, Laura Owens, Wael Shawky and Anicka Yi.  The HUGO BOSS PRIZE carries a stipend of $100,000 and aims to honor artists, whose work is among the most innovative and influential on the landscape of contemporary art. 

The current HUGO BOSS PRIZE jury is chaired by Nancy Spector, Deputy Director and Jennifer and David Stockman Chief Curator, Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation. The jurors are Katherine Brinson, Curator, Contemporary Art, Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum; Dan Byers, Mannion Family Senior Curator, Institute of Contemporary Art/Boston; Elena Filipovic, Director/Chief Curator, Kunsthalle Basel; Michelle Kuo, Editor in Chief, Artforum International and Pablo Leon de la Barra, Guggenheim UBS MAP Curator, Latin America, Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum