Prestigious Jarman Award 2015 Shortlist Announced

Jarman award

The six artists shortlisted for the prestigious Film London Jarman Award 2015, with a chance to win £10,000 prize money as well as a committion from Channel 4 for their Random Acts art strand. For the first time, the selected artists represent all corners of the UK including Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales – offering a snapshot of moving image practice across the country. “The Jarman Award shortlist yet again showcases some of the UK’s most interesting artists working with the moving image” says Adrian Wootton, Chief Executive of Film London and the British Film Commission.

The 2015 shortlisted artists are: Adam Chodzko, Seamus Harahan, Gail Pickering, Alia Syed, Bedwyr Williams, Andrea Luka Zimmerman

The selection Jury was made up of: Iwona Blazwick OBE, Director, Whitechapel Gallery, Andrea Lissoni, Film and International Art Curator, Tate Modern and Film London Board Member

Pegah Farahmand, Editor, Random Acts, Channel 4, Stephen Sutcliffe, Artist, Maria Palacios Cruz, Deputy Director, LUX, Sol Papadopoulos, Producer, Hurricane Films Showing the breadth.

With a more focussed and streamlined selection this year, the work selected shows the breadth of practice within contemporary artists’ moving image, from extraordinary documentaries and lyrical storytelling to mesmerising works that interweave glimpses of the past with digital technologies.

The selection was chosen for bodies of work that represent uncompromising power, beauty and humour.

As with previous years, work by the shortlisted artists will hit the road for a UK tour, offering audiences the chance to see a programme of new and recent single screen works curated around themes of place, change and history, as well as hear from the artists themselves at post-screening Q&As.

The Jarman Award recognises and supports artists working with moving image and celebrates the spirit of experimentation, imagination and innovation in the work of emerging artist filmmakers. The Award is inspired by visionary filmmaker Derek Jarman.

Now in its eight year, the Award has a reputation for spotting rising stars of the UK art world. Previously shortlisted artists include Duncan Campbell, Marvin Gaye Chetwynd, Luke Fowler, Elizabeth Price and Laure Prouvost, all of whom went on to be shortlisted for or win the Turner Prize.

The Award is unique within the industry in offering both financial assistance and the rare opportunity to produce a new moving image work.

Presented in association with Channel 4 and the Whitechapel Gallery, the winner of the Award will be announced on 30 November with a special ceremony at Whitechapel Gallery. The winner not only receives £10,000 prize money, but a number of the shortlisted artists will receive support from Channel 4 to produce new films for their acclaimed Random Acts arts strand.


, , , , , ,