Turner Prize 2014 Shortlist To Be Announced 7 May At Tate Britain

Turner Prize 2014

Tate Britain will announce the 2014 Turner Prize shortlist on Wednesday 7 May.  The Turner Prize began in 1984, established by Tate Gallery’s Patrons of New Art in recognition of the work of some of the finest new talent in Britain’s contemporary art world. Named in honour of the nineteenth-century painter J.M.W. Turner, in response to his unfulfilled wish to set up an award for younger artists, the prize has always been the subject of passionate debate on the subject of contemporary art, and the focus of the exhibition has evolved significantly over the past three decades.

Nominees for consideration must be under 50, living, working or born in Britain, who have shown an outstanding exhibition or presentation of their work in the previous 12 months. While the four shortlisted artists display their work at the Turner Prize exhibition, the jury awards the prize for the originally nominated presentation. The prize is worth £40,000, with £25,000 going to the winner and £5,000 each for the other shortlisted artists.

Past winners have included some of the biggest names in British art including;  1984 Malcolm Morley; 1985 Howard Hodgkin; 1986 Gilbert & George; 1987 Richard Deacon; 1988 Tony Cragg; 1989  Richard Long; 1990 (Prize suspended); 1991 Anish Kapoor; 1992 Grenville Davey; 1993 Rachel Whiteread; 1994 Antony Gormley; 1995 Damien Hirst; 1996 Douglas Gordon; 1997 Gillian Wearing; 1998 Chris Ofili; 1999 Steve McQueen; 2000 Wolfgang Tillmans; 2001 Martin Creed; 2002 Keith Tyson; 2003 Grayson Perry; 2004 Jeremy Deller; 2005 Simon Starling; 2006 Tomma Abts; 2007 Mark Wallinger; 2008 Mark Leckey: 2009 Richard Wright: 2010 Susan Philipsz. 2011 Martin Boyce, 2012 Elizabeth Price, Laure Prouvost 2013

This year the exhibition will be on show at Tate Britain. The winner will be announced at an awards ceremony on Monday 1 December 2014.