Turner Prize To Be Presented By British Vogue’s Edward Enninful

Editor-in-Chief of British Vogue, Edward Enninful

This year’s year’s Turner Prize will be presented by the Editor-in-Chief of British Vogue, Edward Enninful OBE, in Margate on Tuesday 3 December 2019.

This is one of the best Turner Prize exhibitions in years – AL

Turner Prize 2019, with work by the four shortlisted artists: Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Helen Cammock, Oscar Murillo and Tai Shani, is currently on show at Turner Contemporary in Margate until 12 January 2020. Entry to Turner Prize 2019 at Turner Contemporary is free. The exhibition has attracted more than 60,000 visitors since opening to the public on 28 September 2019.

One of the best-known prizes for the visual arts in the world, the Turner Prize, named after JMW Turner (1775-1851), aims to promote public interest in contemporary British art. It is awarded to a British artist for an outstanding exhibition or other presentation of their work in the past 12 months. The Turner Prize award is £40,000 with £25,000 going to the winner and £5,000 each for the other shortlisted artists.

It is the first time that the venue for the Turner Prize, outside of London, has had a direct connection with JMW Turner. Turner Contemporary stands on the site of the artist’s artist’s lodging house and enjoys views of the skies that Turner felt were ”the loveliest in all Europe”. It was announced in October 2019 that Turner Contemporary’sContemporary’s iconic building will feature on the new £20 note, alongside their namesake JMW Turner. Turner Contemporary is a charity, receiving public funding from Kent County Council and Arts Council England.

Rowan Geddis and Fiona Parry curate turner Prize 2019. The members of the Turner Prize 2019 jury are Alessio Antoniolli, Director, Gasworks & Triangle Network; Elvira Dyangani Ose, Director of The Showroom Gallery and Lecturer in Visual Cultures at Goldsmiths; Victoria Pomery, Director, Turner Contemporary, Margate and Charlie Porter, writer. The jury is chaired by Alex Farquharson, Director of Tate Britain. Next year the prize will return to Tate Britain. Prize giving Turner Prize, Editor-in-Chief, British Vogue, Edward Enninful

Turner Prize 2019 is supported by AKO Foundation, Eurotunnel, BNP Paribas, Southeastern, Canterbury Christ Church University, Lord Browne of Madingley and Lance Uggla, with additional funding from Kent County Council.

The Turner Prize is named after J.M.W. Turner (1775-1851) who was an innovative and controversial artist in his day, is now seen as one of the greatest British artists, and expressed a wish to establish a prize for young artists. Turner Contemporary is named after the artist for similar reasons; our work is inspired by Turner’s innovative and radical approach to art.


Read More About Edward Enninful 



, , ,