Turner Prize Shortlist Announced Thursday 25 April 2013

The Shortlist Nominees for the 2013 Turner Prize have been announced at Tate Britain as at 08:45 25 April. The nominees are: Laure Prouvost, Tino Sehgal, David Shrigley and Lynette Yiadom-Boakye

For the first time ever, the Turner Prize, one of the art world’s most prestigious art accolades, will be hosted outside Britain. It will be hosted at this year’s UK Capital of Culture, Derry in Northern Ireland. The shortlist announcement will take place at Tate Britain Thursday 25 April. It is arguably the highlight of the contemporary art calendar and presents the very best of current British art by an artist under 50, in a free exhibition. This exhibition and competition gives the public a chance to discover what is new and exciting in art right now.

Over recent decades the award has played a significant role in provoking debate about visual art and promoting interest in contemporary art trends. Now in its 29th year, Turner Prize 2013 will be held in Derry~ Londonderry as part of the City of Culture programme. It is shown in alternate years at Tate Britain in London and at a selected UK venue.

Founded in 1984 to celebrate new developments in contemporary art, the Turner Prize is awarded each year to a British artist under 50 for an outstanding exhibition or presentation of their work in the preceding 12 months. Artist nominations are invited every year and it is judged by an independent jury. The 2013 jury is Annie Fletcher, Curator of Exhibitions at the Van Abbemuseum, Eindhoven; Susanne Gaensheimer, Director of Frankfurt’s Museum of Modern Art; Declan Long, writer and lecturer at National College of Art and Design, Dublin; Ralph Rugoff, Director of Hayward Gallery, London; the jury is chaired by Penelope Curtis, Director of Tate Britain.

Past winners have included some of the biggest names in British art including;  1984 Malcolm Morley; 1985 Howard Hodgkin; 1986 Gilbert & George; 1987 Richard Deacon; 1988 Tony Cragg; 1989  Richard Long; 1990 (Prize suspended); 1991 Anish Kapoor; 1992 Grenville Davey; 1993 Rachel Whiteread; 1994 Antony Gormley; 1995 Damien Hirst; 1996 Douglas Gordon; 1997 Gillian Wearing; 1998 Chris Ofili; 1999 Steve McQueen; 2000 Wolfgang Tillmans; 2001 Martin Creed; 2002 Keith Tyson; 2003 Grayson Perry; 2004 Jeremy Deller; 2005 Simon Starling; 2006 Tomma Abts; 2007 Mark Wallinger; 2008 Mark Leckey: 2009 Richard Wright: 2010 Susan Philipsz. 2011 Martin Boyce, 2012 Elizabeth Price

Elizabeth Price the winner of the 2012 Turner Prize, for her video work brings an underlying spirituality to her work in ‘ascension’, through the transmission of communication and education of the architecture of the ‘choir’, through the catastrophe of accidental fire, that led to the death of 10 persons and then through the chorus motioning upward movement. Through a rising in to something else something abstract, that makes a lighter experience in understanding and encourages trust, community and en-lightened living.

See the work of the four shortlisted artists in the Turner Prize 2013 exhibition at Ebrington Square. The winner is announced at an awards ceremony on Monday 2 December.

 Read More Breaking Turner Prize News Here