Turner Prize Winner Announced In Derry UK City Of Culture

Turner Prize 2013

Laure Prouvost has just been announced as the winner of  2013 £25,000 Turner Prize at an awards ceremony in Derry by actress Saoirse Ronan. The nominees were: Laure Prouvost, Tino Sehgal, David Shrigley and Lynette Yiadom-Boakye.

This year there was a diverse consensus about the winner with the bookmaker’s favourite being Lynette Yiadom-Boakye while papers such as The Guardian predicted that Tino Sehgal deserved to win.

This is the first time ever that the Turner Prize, one of the art world’s most prestigious art accolades, was hosted outside Britain. It was mounted in Derry – Londonderry, this year’s UK Capital of Culture, in Northern Ireland. The shortlist was announced at Tate Britain on 25 April. It is arguably the highlight of the contemporary art calendar and presents the very best of current British art by an artist under 50, in a free exhibition. This exhibition and competition gives the public a chance to discover what is new and exciting in art right now.

Over recent decades the award has played a significant role in provoking debate about visual art and promoting interest in contemporary art trends. Now in its 29th year, Turner Prize 2013 will be held in Derry~ Londonderry as part of the City of Culture programme. It is shown in alternate years at Tate Britain in London and at a selected UK venue.

Founded in 1984 to celebrate new developments in contemporary art, the Turner Prize is awarded each year to a British artist under 50 for an outstanding exhibition or presentation of their work in the preceding 12 months. Artist nominations are invited every year and it is judged by an independent jury. The 2013 jury is Annie Fletcher, Curator of Exhibitions at the Van Abbemuseum, Eindhoven; Susanne Gaensheimer, Director of Frankfurt’s Museum of Modern Art; Declan Long, writer and lecturer at National College of Art and Design, Dublin; Ralph Rugoff, Director of Hayward Gallery, London; the jury is chaired by Penelope Curtis, Director of Tate Britain.

Laure Prouvost was nominated for her new work Wantee commissioned with Grizedale Arts for inclusion in Schwitters in Britain at Tate Britain and for her two-part installation for the Max Mara Art Prize for Women, resulting from a residency in Italy and presented in collaboration with the Whitechapel Gallery.  Her unique approach to filmmaking, often situated within atmospheric installations, employs strong story telling, quick cuts, montage and deliberate misuse of language to create surprising and unpredictable work.

Tino Sehgal for his pioneering projects This Variation at documenta (XIII) and These Associations at Tate Modern. Both structured and improvised, Seghal’s intimate works consist purely of live encounters between people and demonstrate a keen sensitivity to their institutional context. Through participatory means, they test the limits of artistic material and audience perception in a new and significant way.

David Shrigley  for his solo exhibition at Hayward Gallery David Shrigley: Brain Activity which offered a comprehensive overview and new perspectives on his work. Including not only his well-loved drawings but also photography, sculpture and film, the exhibition revealed his black humour, macabre intelligence and infinite jest.

Lynette Yiadom-Boakye for her exhibition Extracts and Verses at Chisenhale Gallery. Yiadom-Boakye’s intriguing paintings appear traditional but are in fact much more innovative. Her portraits of imaginary people use invented pre-histories and raise pertinent questions about how we read pictures in general, particularly with regard to black subjects.                   

Past winners have included some of the biggest names in British art including;  1984 Malcolm Morley; 1985 Howard Hodgkin; 1986 Gilbert & George; 1987 Richard Deacon; 1988 Tony Cragg; 1989  Richard Long; 1990 (Prize suspended); 1991 Anish Kapoor; 1992 Grenville Davey; 1993 Rachel Whiteread; 1994 Antony Gormley; 1995 Damien Hirst; 1996 Douglas Gordon; 1997 Gillian Wearing; 1998 Chris Ofili; 1999 Steve McQueen; 2000 Wolfgang Tillmans; 2001 Martin Creed; 2002 Keith Tyson; 2003 Grayson Perry; 2004 Jeremy Deller; 2005 Simon Starling; 2006 Tomma Abts; 2007 Mark Wallinger; 2008 Mark Leckey: 2009 Richard Wright: 2010 Susan Philipsz. 2011 Martin Boyce, 2012 Elizabeth Price