Arise Sir Grayson Perry and Sir John Akomfrah Knighted In New Year’s Honours List

Grayson Perry

The New Year’s Honours list 2023 has given a nod to several Visual Artists in this year’s presentation. The List reflects the contribution the Visual Arts sector has undertaken and its considerable cultural accomplishments. Artists Grayson Perry CBE Artist, Writer and Broadcaster has been Knighted For services to the Arts (London, Greater London) and John Akomfrah CBE Visual Artist For services to the Arts also Knighted. Dr Frances Mary Morris Director of Tate Modern awarded an OBE For services to the Arts.

The New Year Honours List is a British tradition

The New Year Honours List is a British tradition marked by naming new members of orders of chivalry and recipients of other official British honours. A number of other Commonwealth realms also mark this day in this way. The awards are presented by or in the name of the reigning monarch, currently Queen Elizabeth II or her vice-regal representative. The selection is made up from names nominated by government officials and now the public are also allowed to nominate. Honours have been awarded at New Year since at least 1890, the year a list of Queen Victoria’s awards was published.

Grayson Perry

Grayson Perry was born in Chelmsford, Essex in 1960, Grayson Perry lives and works in London. Winner of the 2003 Turner Prize, Perry has exhibited in museums worldwide. Institutional venues for recent solo exhibitions by the artist include the Monnaie de Paris (2018 – 2019); Kiasma, Helsinki (2018); The Serpentine Galleries, London (2017); Arnolfini, Bristol (2017); ARoS Aarhus Art Museum, Aarhus (2016); Bonnefantenmuseum, Maastricht (2016); Museum of Contemporary Art, Sydney (2015 – 2016). Perry has also curated several major exhibitions, most recently the critically acclaimed 250th Summer Exhibition at London’s Royal Academy (2018) and the Tomb of the Unknown Craftsman at the British Museum, London (2011-2012). Other significant projects include A House for Essex (building designed in collaboration with FAT Architecture) and The Vanity of Small Differences (monumental suite of tapestries exploring the subject of taste in contemporary Britain). The making of these works was chronicled in the first of Perry’s Channel 4 television series, All In the Best Possible Taste (2013 BAFTA Winner). Further TV programs include Who Are You? (2014 BAFTA Winner), All Man (2016), Grayson Perry: Divided Britain (2017) and Rites of Passage (2018). Perry was elected a Royal Academician in 2012, was awarded the title Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (CBE) in 2013, and currently serves on the Board of Trustees at the British Museum in London.

John Akomfrah

John Akomfrah is a widely respected artist and filmmaker, whose works are characterised by their investigations into memory, post-colonialism, temporality and aesthetics and often explores the experiences of migrant diasporas globally. Akomfrah was a founding member of the influential Black Audio Film Collective, which started in London in 1982. Born in 1957, Accra, Ghana) he lives and works in London. Akomfrah has had numerous solo exhibitions including Eli and Edythe Broad Art Museum, Michigan, USA (2014); Tate Britain, London, UK (2013-14) and a week long series of screenings at MoMA, New York, USA (2011). His participation in international group shows has included: ‘British Art Show 8’, Leeds Art Gallery, Leeds; ‘All the World’s Futures’, 56th Venice Biennale, Italy (2015); ‘History is Now: 7 Artists Take On Britain’, Hayward Gallery, London, UK (2015); ‘Africa Now: Political Patterns’, SeMA, Seoul, South Korea (2014); Sharjah Biennial 11, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates (2013); Liverpool Biennial, UK (2012) and Taipei Biennial, Taiwan (2012). He has also been featured in many international film festivals, including Sundance Film Festival, Utah, USA (2013 and 2011) and Toronto International Film Festival (2012).

Other Honours


Simon MELLOR Deputy Chief Executive, Arts and Museums, Arts Council England. For services to the Arts (London, Greater London)

Members of the Order of the British Empire

John Patrick REYNTIENS Stained Glass Artist. For services to Art and Heritage

Anne TALLENTIRE Artist and Teacher. For services to the Arts

Jonathan Gerard WAKEMAN Founder and Artistic Director, East Street Arts. For services to the Arts

Karen WATSON Founder and Artistic Director, East Street Arts. For services to the Arts


Sarah MUNRO Director, BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art. For services to Art (Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear)

Hammad NASAR Curator, Author and Art Historian. For services to the Arts

Dr Ingrid POLLARD Artist. For services to Art

Read More



, ,